crystal clear, an installation by susan c. dessel

December 18, 2012 - January 30, 2013

Emblems of the International Committee of the Red Cross (ICRC) are used to designate and protect relief workers helping victims of natural and other disasters. This installation raises the hope that in the twenty-first century the Red Crystal – the only neutral emblem, symbolic of neither religion nor nationality, but of nature – can shelter the relief workers of all countries.

The artist will be available at the exhibit at the times listed below to engage visitors in discussion and invite them to contribute to the exhibit.

Sunday, November 18: 9:00 am – 4:00 pm
Wednesday, November 28: 3:00 pm – 6:00 pm
Thursday, November 29: 11:00 am – 2:00 pm
Wednesday, December 5: 3:00 pm – 8:00 pm
Thursday, December 6: 11:00 am – 2:00 pm
Sunday, December 9: 1:00 pm – 5:00 pm
Tuesday, December 11: 5:30 pm – 7:30 pm
Wednesday, December 12: 3:00 pm – 8:00 pm
Thursday, December 13: 11:00 am – 2:00 pm
Wednesday, December 19: 3:00 pm – 8:00 pm
Thursday, December 20: 11:00 am – 2:00 pm

Artist susan c. dessel received public funds from the Manhattan Community Arts Fund, supported by the New York City Department of Cultural Affairs and administered by the Lower Manhattan Cultural Council to create a new installation, crystal clear. This was one of just 25 grants awarded in 2012 in the area of visual art.

Tag(s):